Tuesday, March 27, 2012

And the winner is......

....Frank Antenori!

State Senator Frank Antenori received the most votes in our CD8 Debate Straw Poll last night.  Senator Antenori was followed by retired Air Force Col. Martha McSally.  Local businessman and broadcaster Dave Sitton came in 3rd place, barely outpacing Jesse Kellly, who was the 2010 Republican nominee for the CD8 General Election.

I was surprised by the results and want to congratulate Senator Antenori for winning the Straw Poll.  His margin of victory was pretty substantial and we'll have to see what kinds of correlation the straw poll has to the actual vote totals on April 17.

Out of 350 people who attended last night's debate, 119 people voted in the straw poll, or a little over 1/3 of the crowd.  Frank Antenori received 48 total votes or just over 40% of the total.  He was followed by Martha McSally who had 30 votes or just over 25% of the ballots cast.  Dave Sitton received 22 votes or just under 18.5% of the votes.  And Jesse Kelly had 19 straw poll votes, which was 16% of the total votes cast.

Senator Anterori represents Legislative District 30 in the Arizona State Senate, so it was also surprising that he did so well at the event held deep in the 26th Legislative District which only shares a small border with LD30 in the Catalina Foothills of Tucson.

No comments:

Post a Comment